Malaysia: Movement restrictions tighten as COVID-cases soar nationwide

  • Sarawak and Kelantan have joined the growing list of states subjected to increasing measures of restrictions placed in a bid to curb record levels of COVID infections sprawling across the nation.
  • The Sarawak government has decided to implement the conditional movement-control order (CMCO) throughout the state for 14 days from 18 Jan 21 to 31 Jan 21.
  • He said the CMCO directive applies to all parts of Sarawak except Sibu, which is currently under MCO from 18 Jan 21 to 29 Jan 21.
  • Previously, Sarawak was placed under the recovery MCO (RMCO).
  • As of 18 Jan 21, seven states are currently under MCO. They are Penang, Selangor, Federal Territories (Kuala Lumpur, Putrajaya and Labuan), Malacca, Johor and Sabah and the latest, Kelantan.
  • The conditional MCO is being enforced in Pahang, Perak, Negri Sembilan, Kedah, Terengganu and Sarawak, while Perlis, which has the fewest active Covid-19 cases currently, will remain in the recovery MCO phase.

External Link :